2017 Ditmar Ballot Announced

The 2017 Ditmar Awards Ballot has been released, and I think it’s goimg to cause a lot of people some real problems in deciding who gets their vote–talk about a strong list!

I’m delighted to see a number of my friends and mentors on the list and, as always, honoured to see my name mentioned alongside them. I was grateful to be included in some great projects last year, and it’s wonderful to see them recognised

I have shamelessly stolen the full ballot from the official site, and at the end you’ll find the details of how to vote. Regardless of who you vote for, I do think it is important that everyone eligible to vote does so, because the more people engaged with the awards, the more they reflect the whole community.

Good luck to all the nominees, and whether you win or not, congratulations on your well deserved recognition!

The Ditmar subcommittee are pleased to announce that voting for the
Australian SF (“Ditmar”) Award for 2017 is now open, and will remain
open until one minute before midnight Melbourne time on Sunday, 14th of
May, 2017 (ie. 11.59pm, GMT+10).

The 2017 ballot is as follows:

The Grief Hole, Kaaron Warren, IFWG Publishing Australia.
The Lyre Thief, Jennifer Fallon, HarperCollins.
Squid’s Grief, D.K. Mok, D.K. Mok.
Vigil, Angela Slatter, Jo Fletcher Books.
The Wizardry of Jewish Women, Gillian Polack, Satalyte Publishing.

“All the Colours of the Tomato”, Simon Petrie, in Dimension6 9.
“By the Laws of Crab and Woman”, Jason Fischer, in Review of Australian Fiction, Vol 17, Issue 6.
“Did We Break the End of the World?”, Tansy Rayner Roberts, in Defying Doomsday, Twelfth Planet Press.
“Finnegan’s Field”, Angela Slatter, in Tor.com.
“Glass Slipper Scandal”, Tansy Rayner Roberts, in Sheep Might Fly.
“Going Viral”, Thoraiya Dyer, in Dimension6 8.

“Flame Trees”, T.R. Napper, in Asimov’s Science Fiction, April/May 2016.
“No Fat Chicks”, Cat Sparks, in In Your Face, FableCroft Publishing.
“There’s No Place Like Home”, Edwina Harvey, in AntipodeanSF 221.

Crow Shine by Alan Baxter, Ticonderoga Publications.
Defying Doomsday, Tsana Dolichva and Holly Kench, Twelfth Planet Press.
Dreaming in the Dark, Jack Dann, PS Publishing.
In Your Face, Tehani Wessely, FableCroft Publishing.

“The Tame Animals of Saturn”, Adam Browne, in The Tame Animals of Saturn, Peggy Bright Books.
illustration, Shauna O’Meara, for Lackington’s 12.

2016 Australian SF Snapshot, Greg Chapman, Tehani Croft, Tsana Dolichva, Marisol Dunham, Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Stephanie Gunn, Ju Landéesse, David McDonald, Belle McQuattie, Matthew Morrison, Alex Pierce, Rivqa Rafael, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Helen Stubbs, Katharine Stubbs and Matthew Summers.
The Coode St Podcast, Gary K. Wolfe and Jonathan Strahan.
Earl Grey Editing Services (blog), Elizabeth Fitzgerald.
Galactic Chat, Alexandra Pierce, David McDonald, Sarah Parker, Helen Stubbs, Mark Webb, and Sean Wright.
Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts.
The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond.

James ‘Jocko’ Allen, for “My Life in Fanzines”, in SF Commentary 93.
Aidan Doyle, for “The Science Fiction Writer’s Hierarchy of Doubt”
Bruce Gillespie, for “Revelations: My Life, Science Fiction, and Fanzines”, in SF Commentary 93.
Foz Meadows for Shattersnipe: Malcontent & Rainbows.
Tansy Rayner Roberts for “Justice League International”

Kathleen Jennings for “Illustration Friday”.

T. R. Napper
Marlee Jane Ward


Kat Clay for essays and reviews in “Weird Fiction Review”.
Tehani Croft & Marisol Dunham, for “Revisiting Pern: the great McCaffrey reread” review series.
Tsana Dolichva, for reviews, in Tsana’s Reads and Reviews.
Kate Forsyth, for The Rebirth of Rapunzel: a mythic biography of the maiden in the tower, FableCroft Publishing.
Ian Mond, for reviews, in The Hysterical Hamster.
Alexandra Pierce, for reviews, in Randomly Yours, Alex.
Gillian Polack, for History and Fiction: Writers, their Research, Worlds and Stories, Peter Lang.

Votes can be sent via email to:


Note that some categories include more than five nominees due to
tied nomination numbers, while others include fewer than five nominees,
either because insufficient eligible nominees received the required
minimum number of nominations for the category, or because ties meant
that more than seven nominees would have appeared on the ballot.

If possible, please vote online at:


The online voting system provides a passworded facility to adjust your
vote at any time before the close of voting.

Alternatively, votes will be accepted via email to:


Postal ballots will be distributed in the near future.

Voting for the Ditmar Award is conducted in accordance with the rules
specified here, and is open to members of Continuum 13(including supporting members) and to members of Contact 2016 who were eligible to vote in the 2016 Award.

Voting in all award categories is by the optional preferential system, and each
eligible individual may vote only once. All ballots (including emailed
ballots) should include the name and address of the voter. If you have
questions regarding the ballot or voting procedure, please email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *